Adulthood

  So for those who don’t know I’m 23yr. I was diagnosed with autism late (well rediagnosed). At age 22yr after years of changing diagnoses. I’ve been in and out of therapy, hospitals, and placements mi whole life. I was labeled with everything from adhd to depression to schizophrenia. None of which made sense to me. Now they finally got it right. The things they showed me about autism clicked with mi experience from not being able to process verbal info well to sensory issues to being mono focused to self stimming ect. But now that they know what’s going on i still can’t get resources. Since there is no paperwork of me diagnosed as a child i don’t qualify for development disability services. And since i was in the hospital I’m referred to mental health services. Never mind that every hospital said i didn’t need to be there. Never mind being misunderstood and misdiagnosed. Never mind that i need help with ‘simple’ task. Not that I’d mind mental health system if they helped. But they say i don’t need thier help and the few who would consider me deny me based on not talking. Doesn’t matter that i communicate in various ways. Doesn’t matter that i barely understand verbal speech especialmente if i didn’t prepare for it. It sounds like dinosaurs to me. I think in colors and music. I even pick up asl better than words. I’m not mentally challenged which is apparently what people think when they learn i don’t talk even though I’m not deaf. The other crazy thing is that some people/services who have known me for years could’ve diagnosed me a long time ago but didn’t. But when i got diagnosed they were like Ah yes of course i see that by looking at you. So I’ve learned that people view you in a lens based on what they’re told. Tell them I’m having mental issues they see it even when the medicine doesn’t help but tell them I’m autistic and they see it even though I’m acting the same way. Silly people tricks are for bunnies. I just want housing and some help with things like scheduling mi days and dressing right. Maybe even making a friend or going to school or work. But at this rate the only thing that will happen is i get sent to a nursing home.

Leave a Reply

