Faces

I have a very short but important thing to share. I can’t understand faces. One day I saw a person and decided I was going to draw them. But as soon as I look away I did not remember what they look like. I did not think of it much at the time. Later a friend (also with autism but more capable of some things) ran up to me and hugged me and my reflexes was to hit. After a few seconds I understood it was my friend, and explain I did not know that. They show me of prosopagnosia- the inability to see faces. I was think on this for a long time and it made me understand some things like why I could know some pictures was of me. It’s always good to understand what is different for me so that I don’t have to feel bad and so I can help new people in my life work with me. Now I can tell program why I need see they tags or friends why I don’t wave if I see them somewhere different- I don’t understand that I see them. I learn to understand people by other things like where they are or certain things they wear or stuff. But it can take a long time to learn how to know a person, and maybe take a few minutes when see them to understand it’s them especially if something change.

Leave a Reply

