That kind of autism 

I don’t like when people say but my child don’t have that kind of autism. I see that on Facebook a lot with some of the autism things I follow (mostly I follow cartoons like curious George and paw patrol and scooby doo but it’s nice to not feel alone being different so I have a few autism and cerebral palsy things). Mostly it’s by parents with children less than who are nonverbal and/or may also have a intellectual disability. They’re saying they’re their child is low functioning and using it as an excuse that they can’t do something and never will be. A development delay is that a delay, it may take us longer but it can happen. I really really hate it when its of they child can’t say how they feel or think, which is where I see it the most. If you’re on a post that is asking people with autism their thinks who are you to decide that everyone who answers is “high functioning ” and that you’re child is to “low functioning ” to ever respond to a question. I’m nonverbal and have a intellectual difference and physical limitations and I still can. Sure I need help. I’m not very good with words and use a picture based system even for typing. I have to look up stuff or ask someone to explain a lot but I can do it. It may take awhile to find the best way to help your child find a way to communicate but it’s possible- there are hand signs, pictures, AAC, tv scripts, and of course typing. And maybe some other stuff. Instead of looking at us adults who you see on fb and say my child will never be like that you can think there’s hope because these adults find a way. Or you can even ask us what helped us. But it’s not fair to decide that children who have more obvious differences won’t never learn. Be patient and keep trying new ways. Yes I know there are people with and without autism that have a more big intellectual difference than me (one of my longest time friend does) and they are still valid are able to find a way to communicate to. Don’t you limit them. Our bodies and brains may be different but we still has souls with thinks and feels just like everyone. 

Leave a Reply

