Sharing your autistic experience 

So me has see a thing problem with trying to share mine experience. No matter how me do it me am not good enuff. Is always a reason not has to listen to me. If me types my normal with little help from anyone me am to hard to understand or my obvious intellectual and communication problems makes me invalid. But if me gets help me am see as to smart and people think am ‘high functioning’ so can’t possibly be like the other nonverbal kids who still has behaviors. Even tho me am still having behaviors. Besides behaviors is a form of communication and brain body self defense. As me am less can type me am has more behaviors. Not on purpose but is the only way you can see if me has a headache or am overwhelmed or as pain, when mine body can do nothing and me am rag doll you not can know anything of mine feels and thinks. Judging me or anyone is bad especially based on how we type. You don’t know us. You don’t see the hours working on these words. You don’t see the meltdowns me has. And even those who are ‘high functioning’ you don’t see them struggles and shutdowns. Mine friend Grr is called high functioning autism. Him works and talks. But him also stims, has meltdowns, has trouble with things like baths, has sensory problems, and can has times of nonverbal. The thing is how much you can do in 1 way is not how you do in all the ways. Do me need more help than him yes. But that not means him not needs help to. But if all you see is us typing then you not can know what him needs. You not can see his meltdowns by him typing. 

4 thoughts on “Sharing your autistic experience 

  1. You are not invalid for trying to communicate your way. Sometimes people don’t realize how much effort or help it takes for soem people to communicate. You make this very clear. Thanks so much for this. As an autistic person who can speak, I can’t imagine what it must be like being non-verbal, but I can relate to being judged for a few skills.

Leave a Reply

